Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Dear Big Ten Officials,


When I was watching the Penn State game, I noticed on Denard's interception that Penn State was trying to rush a few players off the field. I started hurriedly saying "Snap it, snap it, snap it". And it appeared that Penn State got their players off the field. They didn't:

Count the red dots. That's 12. You're allowed 11 players. Get it? You can see that the Penn State defender has not yet gotten off the field. The ball is circled in yellow and has already been snapped. This is not why Denard threw an interception--more about his interception on Thursday--but that doesn't negate the fact that it's clearly a 5-yard penalty on Penn State. This wouldn't bother me so much if we hadn't been called for a five-men-in-the-backfield penalty on this play that led up to the 3rd and long that Denard threw his interception on:


How many men do you see in the backfield? Because I count four. Seriously, who is the fifth man and how were we called for this? Ugh.

3 comments:

Steven said...

Maybe (and this is a reach) the RT isn't on the LOS...

Burgeoning Wolverine Star said...

I'm pretty sure that was the call. But everyone does this (or worse, watch Notre Dame) on passing down. Just frustrating, I suppose.

john said...

If Dorrestein simply squares his stance, like the TE is doing the penalty doesn't get called. On the one hand, I want to say it's a bs call. On the other hand, it's the rule and fundamentals, fundamentals, fundamentals!


Post a Comment